Keep in touch

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Interests

Sharing
Flavour

Our whiskies hail from highly respected distilleries in Scotland and Ireland.  Produced in the classic tradition, they appeal to adventurous whisky enthusiasts who have a genuine appreciation for quality.  Discover the fascinating range of whiskies represented by Connexion Oenophilia.

 

Kilchoman

100% Islay 8th edition

Scotland :: UK

http://kilchomandistillery.com/

Distillery::

Kilchoman Distillery is a small family run farm distillery based on the rugged west coast of Islay.  The distillery was established by Anthony Wills in 2005 and is the first distillery to be established on Islay in over 124 years.  The idea was to build a new distillery which took whisky production back to its roots.  The annually released limited edition bottling is produced solely from barley grown in fields surrounding the distillery and completes every stage of the whisky-making process at the distillery, including traditional floor malting.  Kilchoman remains the only Scotch whisky distillery to produce single malt using these traditional Farm Distillery methods.  Kilchoman is now very much a family affair: Anthony and wife Kathy are joined by their three sons:  James, Peter and George.

Style::

Lightly peated Islay single malt

Blending::

Anthony Wills, Kilchoman Founder and Managing Director:  “There is a clear difference between the 100% Islay range and other releases, the lighter peating level and maturation exclusively in ex-bourbon barrels gives the whisky a beautiful fragrance and balance”
“When we first set out to build Kilchoman the ambition was to produce a single malt from barley grown on the distillery farm to give complete control and traceability, we also wanted to echo how whisky was once made on Islay and across Scotland.  We are incredibly proud to continue these traditional practices.”

This, the 8th Edition, is a vatting of 23 bourbon barrels and 7 oloroso sherry butts filled between 2008 and 2012, bottled at 50% ABV.  As with all previous 100% Islay releases, the 8th edition has been produced from barley exclusively grown and malted at the distillery. Kilchoman are the only Islay distillery to produce whisky in this traditional way, making this single malt truly 100% Islay. The peating level is slightly lighter than the rest of the Kilchoman range.

Distillation::

The 8th Edition 100% Islay can trace its origins to the fertile soil of the Kilchoman barley fields. It was here that the distillery harvested Optic barley between 2007 and 2011.

ageing::

Once harvested the barley was hand malted, peated and distilled before being matured in a combination of bourbon and sherry casks.  The combination of cask types allowing for an elegant balance of rich spices, citrus sweetness and earthy peat smoke.  The 8th Edition 100% Islay was born, bottled on site without colouring or chill-filtration, standing alone as Islay’s only Single Farm Single Malt, 100% Islay – from barley to bottle.

colour::

Golden.

nose::

Vanilla, light zesty fruit and malty notes.

taste::

Fresh citrus and intense butterscotch with light smoke.

finish::

Clean and long with integrated peat smoke and sweetness.

% alc./vol. ::

50.0

Suivez-nous sur

Inscription à l'infolettre

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Intérêts

PARTAGER
LES SAVEURS

NOS whiskies  proviennent de distilleries très respectées d’Écosse et d’Irlande. Produits selon la tradition classique, ils s’adresent aux amateurs aventureux qui apprécient véritablement la qualité. 

 

Kilchoman

100% Islay 8th edition

Islay :: Écosse

http://kilchomandistillery.com/

Distillerie::

La Distillerie Kilchoman est une petite entreprise familiale établie sur la côte ouest de l’île d’Islay au relief accidenté. La distillerie, fondée par Anthony Wills en 2005, est la première établie sur l’île en plus de 124 ans. Pour son fondateur, il s’agissait de créer une distillerie qui renouerait avec les origines de la production de whisky. Kilchoman produit en effet son single malt d’Islay entièrement à partir d’orge cultivé dans les champs environnants et toutes les étapes de la production du whisky, notamment le maltage sur aire traditionnel, sont menées à la distillerie. Kilchoman est la seule distillerie écossaise à procéder ainsi. L’entreprise est devenue une affaire résolument familiale : Anthony et son épouse Kathy sont maintenant secondés par leurs trois fils, James, Peter et George.
Depuis le premier whisky commercialisé en 2009, Kilchoman s’est rapidement affirmé parmi les meilleurs producteurs de single malt d’Islay.

Style::

Islay Single Malt légèrement tourbé

Assemblage::

Anthony Wills, fondateur et directeur général de Kilchoman: “Il y a une nette différence entre la gamme 100% Islay et les autres: le niveau plus léger de la tourbe et l’élevage exclusivement en barriques de bourbon confèrent au whisky bouquet et équilibre”.
«Lorsque nous avons commencé à construire Kilchoman, l’ambition était de produire un single malt à partir de l’orge cultivé sur la propriété pour un contrôle et une traçabilité complète. Nous voulions également faire écho à la façon dont le whisky était fabriqué à Islay et en Ecosse. Nous sommes très fiers de continuer ces pratiques traditionnelles. “

La 8ième édition de ce single malt produit en quantité limitée chaque année, a été élevée dans des fûts du Bourbon Buffalo Trace, qui a été rempli en 2011 et mis en bouteille en 2018. Comme toutes les versions précédentes 100% Islay, la 8ième édition a été produite exclusivement à partir d’orge malté à la distillerie. Kilchoman est la seule distillerie d’Islay à produire du whisky de manière traditionnelle, faisant de ce single malt 100% Islay. Le niveau de la tourbe est légèrement plus léger que le reste de la gamme Kilchoman.

Couleur::

Doré.

nez::

Vanille, légères notes de fruits et de malt.

bouche::

Agrumes frais et caramel intense enrobé d’un léger goût fumé.

Final::

Propre et long avec une tourbe intégrée et de la douceur.

% alc./vol. ::

50,0